Every year thousands of North Carolinians receive traffic citations. These traffic citations can threaten your right to drive and can result in devastating increases in your car insurance premiums. In North Carolina, all insurance companies are governed by the North Carolina Rate Bureau. The North Carolina Rate Bureau has established the Safe Driver Insurance Plan, which controls the point system under which insurance rates are calculated. This system assigns different point values to each moving violation, with an insurance rate increase of around 25% for each point.
12 Points Manslaughter (or negligent homicide) resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle. Prearranged highway racing or knowingly lending a motor vehicle to be used in a prearranged race. Failure to stop and render aid when involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury or death (hit-and-run driving). Impaired driving, including driving a vehicle while under the influence of an impairing substance; driving a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more; and driving a commercial vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.04% or more. Transportation of intoxicating liquors for the purpose of sale.
10 Points Highway racing (not prearranged) or knowingly lending a motor vehicle to be used in the race. Speeding to Elude
8 Points Operating a motor vehicle during a period of revocation or suspension of either the driver’s license or vehicle registration.
4 Points Failure to stop and report when involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in property damage only (hit-and-run). Reckless driving. Passing a stopped school bus. Speeding in excess of 75 miles per hour (mph) when posted limit is less that 70 mph. Speeding in excess of 80 mph when limit is 70 mph or greater Driving by a person under 21 after consuming alcohol or drugs.
3 Points Each at-fault accident that results in bodily injury (in excess of $ 1800.00) or death or total property damage (including the insured’s property) of $ 3000.00 or more.
2 Points Illegal passing. Speeding more than 10 mph over the limit, if total speed was in excess of 55 mph but less than 76 mph. Speeding 10 miles or less in excess of limit in speed zone of 55 or greater Following too closely. Driving on the wrong side of the road. Each at-fault accident that results in total damage to all property which is in excess of $1 ,800.00 but less than $ 3000.00. (3-4-2005)
1 Point Speeding 10 mph or less in excess of a speed limit of less than 55 mph Any other moving violation. Each at-fault accident that results in total damage of $ 1,800.00 or less
1 POINT = 25% INCREASE
2 POINTS = 45% INCREASE
3 POINTS = 65% INCREASE
4 POINTS = 90% INCREASE
5 POINTS = 120% INCREASE
6 POINTS = 150% INCREASE
7 POINTS = 180% INCREASE
8 POINTS = 220% INCREASE
9 POINTS = 260% INCREASE
10 POINTS = 300% INCREASE
11 POINTS = 350%INCREASE
12 POINTS = 400%INCREASE
For example, a minor moving violation, such as a speeding ticket, could result in a 25% increase on your insurance bill, while a DWI conviction could result in an assessment of 12 insurance points and approximately a 400% increase on your insurance bill. Even minor violations can have a substantial impact on your automobile insurance rates.
At The Law Corner, we will thoroughly review your driving history, as well as the details and circumstances surrounding your moving violation. It is our goal to fight to protect your right to drive, while keeping your insurance rates as low as possible. There may be possible defenses in your case that should be raised at trial. Also, there may be alternatives that can be taken to help minimize the negative effects in the event of a conviction. If you’ve been charged with a traffic violation in Raleigh or Wake County and you want a skillful attorney and aggressive legal representation, contact us at The Law Corner for a free consultation and case evaluation.
If you receive 12 license points within a 3 year period, your license will be revoked for a period of one year.
5 Points Passing a stopped school bus.
4 Points Reckless driving, Hit and run, Property damage only, Following too closely, Driving on wrong side of road, Illegal passing.
3 Points Running through a stop sign, Speeding in excess of 55 miles per hour, Failing to yield right-of-way, Running through red light, No driver’s license or license expired more than one year, Failure to stop for siren, Driving through safety zone, No liability insurance, Failure to report accident where such report is required, Speeding in a school zone in excess of the posted school zone speed limit.
2 Points All other moving violations, Failure to properly restrain a child in a restraint or seat belt.
1 Point Littering involving use of motor vehicle.
0 Points Seat Beat Violation, Improper Equipment/plates/registration/muffler/inspection sticker display.
Has your North Carolina Driver’s License been suspended or revoked? Are you wondering how you are going to be able to get to work, buy groceries, or drive to school? If your license is suspended or revoked, you need to contact The Law Corner to speak with an experienced driver’s license suspension attorney to discuss your options. Simply ignoring a suspended or revoked license will not fix the problem, and continuing to drive during this time puts you at risk of being charged with driving while your license is suspended or revoked. Convictions for driving while your license is revoked can significantly lengthen the period of revocation and could result in jail time.
Your license may be revoked or suspended for many reasons, including:
Also, many people believe that if they have never had a North Carolina driver’s license, then their privilege cannot be revoked. You do not need to have ever had a North Carolina driver’s license to be in revoked status, as it is considered a revocation of your driving privilege. Other states will likely pick up on this revocation status, and you may be at risk of losing your out of state license.
At The Law Corner, we will thoroughly review your driving record and explain to you what steps need to be taken to restore your driving privileges. This may include helping you clear up an old ticket or take care of old fines. It may also be necessary to reopen old cases that were handled improperly and have resulted in a revocation of your license. Often times, people pled guilty to certain crimes without knowing that their guilty plea would result in the revocation of their license. It may be possible to reopen your old case and obtain a different result in order to avoid revocation of your driver’s license.
Whatever the reason for your driver’s license suspension or revocation, we are here to evaluate your case and, if possible, take the necessary steps to shorten or even eliminate your period of revocation. Additionally, we will be able to tell you whether you qualify for a Limited Driving Privilege. Our lawyers understand that driving has become a vital part of everyday life. Take the first step towards restoring your driving privileges and contact us for a free consultation regarding your driver’s license revocation.
If your license has been suspended or revoked, you may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege. A Limited Driving Privilege is a court order that allows you to drive for certain purposes, during limited hours. The privilege typically allows you to drive to and from work and school, doctor visits, and for maintenance of your household. If you have been ordered by the court to perform community service or to attend alcohol/drug treatment programs, certain Limited Driving Privileges will also allow you to drive for these purposes.
If your license is suspended or revoked, you may qualify for a Limited Driving Privilege. North Carolina law allows you to obtain a Limited Driving Privilege in a number of situations:
In order to obtain a Limited Driving Privilege, you will have to petition the court for such a privilege and provide the required documents. Once you have submitted the petition at the courthouse, the courthouse clerk will set the matter for hearing, and you will need to appear to petition the court in person. A District Court Judge may then issue you a Limited Driving Privilege if you are eligible. However, Judges and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice, so it is recommended that you contact an attorney to help you obtain a Limited Driving Privilege. Also, an attorney will be able to get you a Limited Driving Privilege without you having to appear in court. Contact us today to find out if you are eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege.
In North Carolina, there are several different types of Limited Driving Privileges that are associated with DWI charges. Each different types of Limited Driving Privilege requires specific information and specific documentation.
If you have been charged with Driving While Impaired and refuse to take a breathalyzer or blood test or have blown more than .08, your license will be immediately revoked for 30 days. If you are eligible, you may be able to obtain a Pre-Trial Limited Driving Privilege that will enable you to drive for the last 20 days of the revocation period. In addition to the other required documentation, the court requires that you undergo a substance abuse assessment. This privilege will expire at the end of the 30 day period, and you will be eligible to get your license back by paying the clerk the $100 restoration fee.
If you have been convicted of Driving While Impaired, you may be eligible for a Limited Driving Privilege. This will depend on your sentencing level. In North Carolina, individuals convicted of Driving While Impaired are sentenced according to statutory levels ranging from Level 1 through Level 5, with Level 5 being the least severe and Level 1 being the most severe. If you are found to be a Level 3, 4, or 5 at sentencing, you may qualify for a Limited Driving Privilege. You must also undergo a substance abuse assessment for this type of privilege.
If you attempted to take a breathalyzer test, and were deemed to have willfully refused to take the test, you should contact one of our Raleigh DWI lawyers now because your license will be revoked by the Department of Motor Vehicles for 1 year based on your refusal. You may be eligible for this type of Limited Driving Privilege after 6 months from the date of the refusal. Remember, your refusal must be willful! If you attempted to take a breathalyzer test, and were deemed to have “willfully refused” to take the test, click here to learn more about your rights.
If you have been convicted of Driving While Impaired and blew a 0.15 or higher on the breathalyzer machine, you may be required to have the Ignition Interlock System installed in your vehicle before you can obtain a Limited Driving Privilege. However, this type of privilege is not valid until 45 days after the date of conviction.
Here at The Law Corner, our attorneys are very familiar with the steps that need to be taken to get you driving again. Call us today to see if you qualify for a Limited Driving Privilege.