In NC, a drunk driving offense is referred to as a DWI, or “driving while impaired.” In other states it may be referred to as a DUI or “driving under the influence.” In North Carolina, the laws regarding Driving While Impaired (DWI) have become increasingly severe over the last few years. Today, more than ever, you need an experienced DWI lawyer in your corner. If you have been charged with Driving While Impaired (DWI/DUI) or underage drinking/driving in Raleigh, or Wake County, The Law Corner will provide you with the assistance and expertise that you need, and will aggressively advocate on your behalf to attempt to achieve the best possible outcome in your case. We will evaluate the facts and circumstances surrounding your charge to determine what possible defenses you may have to your DWI/DUI charge. Our attorneys are very familiar with the law and the process surrounding DWI/DUI charges, and will use this expertise to ensure the protection of your constitutional rights regarding the basis of your traffic stop, the administration of field sobriety tests, and numerous other factors surrounding your charge. At The Law Corner, we will provide you with an aggressive defense to help guard your freedom and to help you keep your driving privileges.
In North Carolina, DWI/DUI charges are governed by North Carolina General Statute 20-138.1. This statute states that a person is guilty of Driving While Impaired if they:
(b) a vehicle
(c) on a highway, street, or public vehicular area
(d) while under the influence of an impairing substance or with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more at any relevant time after driving.
If you have been charged with a DWI/DUI offense, it is imperative that you understand the legal meaning behind each of the elements of the crime. A DWI/DUI conviction can result in many negative consequences such as a possibility of jail time, a criminal record, higher insurance premiums, community service, alcohol education, substance-abuse treatment, and court/administrative fees. Specifically, defendants who are charged with driving while impaired face an automatic revocation of their license for at least 30 days, even before they have had a trial. However, in many cases, a competent and knowledgeable attorney can help you obtain a limited driving privilege after the first 10 days of this suspension.
If convicted of a DWI, a person could face court fines of up to $2,000, imprisonment for up to 5 years, and insurance increases of up to 400%. Many DWI convictions result in mandatory jail sentences, and a person could be sentenced to jail even if he is a first time DWI offender.
If you have been charged with driving while impaired, it is important to remember that it doesn’t automatically mean you are guilty. There may be possible defenses in your case that should be raised at trial. Also, there may be alternatives that can be taken to help minimize the negative effects in the event of a conviction. If you’ve been charged with driving while impaired, contact us at The Law Corner for a free consultation and case evaluation.
When you get a DWI, protect yourself and call The Law Corner. For help dealing with a Raleigh DWI, contact The Law Corner at 919-424-8319. The experienced DWI Lawyers at The Law Corner are able to walk you through the process and help take the stress out of this difficult time.
The Law Corner DWI attorneys in Raleigh can help explain the process to you and help you with any other Traffic or driving related issues, to include, but not limited to, the following:
The Law Corner Attorneys help people all over Wake County to include the following areas: Knightdale, Wake Forest, Raleigh, Morrisville, Apex, Wendell, Zebulon, New Hope, Cary, Rolesville, Fuquay-Varina, Holly Springs, and Garner.