Every year thousands of North Carolinians receive traffic citations. These traffic citations can threaten your right to drive and can result in devastating increases in your car insurance premiums. In North Carolina, all insurance companies are governed by the North Carolina Rate Bureau. The North Carolina Rate Bureau has established the Safe Driver Insurance Plan, which controls the point system under which insurance rates are calculated. This system assigns different point values to each moving violation, with an insurance rate increase of around 25% for each point.
In North Carolina, the laws regarding Driving While Impaired (DWI) have become increasingly severe over the last few years. Today, more than ever, you need an experienced DWI lawyer in your corner. If you have been charged with Driving While Impaired (DWI/DUI) or underage drinking/driving in Raleigh, Wake County, The Law Corner will provide you with the assistance and expertise that you need, and will aggressively advocate on your behalf to attempt to achieve the best possible outcome in your case. We will evaluate the facts and circumstances surrounding your charge to determine what possible defenses you may have to your DWI/DUI charge. Our attorneys are very familiar with the law and the process surrounding DWI/DUI charges, and will use this expertise to ensure the protection of your constitutional rights regarding the basis of your traffic stop, the administration of field sobriety tests, and numerous other factors surrounding your charge. At The Law Corner, we will provide you with an aggressive defense to help guard your freedom and to help you keep your driving privileges.
In North Carolina, misdemeanors generally fall into one of four categories:
Class A1 – A class A1 is the most serious type of misdemeanor in North Carolina. Examples include Assault on a Female, Assault with a deadly weapon, DWI, and a Violation of a 50B restraining order. Even if you have had no prior convictions, a class A1 misdemeanor can be punishable by jail time. The maximum sentence that can be given for a class A1 misdemeanor is 150 days in jail. Unless specified by the offense, fines for class A1 misdemeanor convictions are in the discretion of the court.
The Chief District Court Judges established set fine amounts for moving violations in North Carolina. These fines do not require you to appear for court and the amount is listed on your traffic ticket. While it may seem easy to just pay the ticket and forget about it, it may not be that simple. Too many tickets can lead to license suspensions and your insurance premium will go up. So should you fight the ticket or pay it? Find out here.
In North Carolina, a misdemeanor by definition carries a punishment of less then 1 year in prison. Misdemeanor charges can severely affect your life, family, job—and your reputation. It is very important to talk to an attorney about how to minimize the damage these types of charges can have. Below are the classes of Misdemeanors in NC and the maximum punishment.
· Class A1 Misdemeanor – 150 Days
· Class 1 Misdemeanor – 120 Days
· Class 2 Misdemeanors – 60 Days
· Class 3 Misdemeanors – 20 Days
If you are charged with a crime in North Carolina, it is important that you understand your legal rights. We aggressively defend clients charged with everything from minor traffic infractions to serious felonies. The Law Corner can assist you in understanding what you have been charged with, what legal defenses might apply in your case, and what options are available to you. We will evaluate the facts and circumstances surrounding your charge to determine what possible defenses you may have. We are very familiar with the law and the procedural process surrounding criminal charges, and we will use this expertise to ensure the protection of your rights.
When you go to court, you need to be aware that the district attorney and the judge cannot give you legal advice because they represent the state of North Carolina. A district attorney is a lawyer who works for the government and who is responsible for developing and presenting the state’s case against a criminal defendant. However, just because you have been criminally charged does not mean that you have no alternatives. The Law Corner will provide you with strong legal representation to help you achieve the most favorable outcome based on the circumstances of your case. We will fight to prove your innocence, or alternatively, fight to help you receive the minimum sentence.
The punishment for criminal offenses is primarily determined by the classification of the crime and the defendant’s prior record level. The defendant’s prior record level is determined by the number and classification of prior convictions. Also, the sentencing structure depends on whether you have been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony.
At The Law Corner, we will work one on one with you to develop the best possible strategies and defenses to try to reduce your punishment, or in some cases, avoid a conviction entirely. Whether you have been charged with a minor traffic violation or a serious felony, our attorneys are prepared to defend your case and fight for your freedom. Just because you have been charged with a crime, it is important to remember that it doesn’t automatically mean you are guilty or that you should plead guilty. There may be possible defenses in your case that should be raised at trial. Also, there may be alternatives that can be taken to help minimize the negative effects in the event of a conviction. If you are in need of skillful and effective criminal defense representation, contact The Law Corner today to schedule your free consultation.